What I read in September

 At first glance, to me, the books I picked up to read last month seem all over the place, but maybe that is how I usually operate. I haven’t done monthly recaps formally before, so I guess trends may start to emerge? 

How do I choose the books I read? Cover, recommendation, book club pics, author, blog post, review, and my “25 Books in whatever year it is”group on FB are the usual sources. 

Here are my September reads:

  
Let’s Get Lost is #YA and I picked it for its cover. It might have been a ” if you like this, read this” too. I couldn’t finish it. It’s a Harlequin Teen book and #godawful I rarely bail on books, someone took the time to write it, I picked it for a reason, there must be some redeeming factor to it. Not. This. Book. Forever thankful it came from the library! #gratitude

  
Another #YA , this time a graphic novel series, also from library. This book is #amazeballs. The campers are all problem solving, saving themselves and BFFs “no one left behind/I got your back” awesomeness. I want to read all the books. My niece is getting one ( or more) for Christmas. 

  
More #YA and again from the library. But this one could have been an adult fiction if it had been edited a bit differently or maybe written from  another or multiple  characters’ perspective. This is not to say it isn’t good, but that it is that good to read. It involves neighbours, one of whom’s son is abducted by their estranged husband. The child, Oliver, is picked up from school early one day in grade 2 and doesn’t return home. The story goes on to note how the people left behind cope and how their lives change. Until, 10 years later, Oliver comes back. The coming back is almost more painful. Beautiful, haunting, well written book.  

  
I got this one from the library, and picked it  for two reasons 1. The title and 2. A Man Called Ove by the same author. If you haven’t already read Ove, you really should. I LOVE Ove, I wish he was real. I wish he was my neighbour. He made me think of my dad, who I know was not as crotchety as Ove but would do anything for you like Ove. Anyways, Grandmother is a character and so is her granddaughter. The book has a somewhat similar style to Ove but not completely. Great message in this book about unconditional love, family, friendship. Probably be better to read farther apart from Ove so the two aren’t compared in your head. 

  
Patrick deWitt writes crazy books with crazy characters in them. His mind must be mayhem! The main character in this book is an unassuming, lacklustre weakling who lies, semi-compulsively and is usually caught out in his lies. And there are consequences for him lying and yet, he keeps on lying, hence the compulsiveness. The book feels like a fable with its gothic setting and character descriptions, but no moral is being taught. Sometimes this book veers right off into #crazytown ( you will know when you get there) and at the end of it you are kind wondering ” what the hell just happened?” Welcome to Patrick deWitt! 

What have you been reading? 

 

Leave a comment