Mondays have me like πŸ™ƒπŸ˜£

Monday morning: the alarm goes off, I jump out of bed. 
Seriously, I jump. 

I always get up as soon as the alarm goes off. Nobody else in my house does. By 7:30 I have showered, checked emails, put the kettle on ( for tea to take to school)  made coffee, organized breakfast and put on table for boys and started eating mine, put all lunches together and am heading back upstairs to finish getting ready.

 Because no one but me is moving above snail speed, John drives the boys to school.

I am planning on just working the morning. Then putting gas ⛽️ in my car. Visiting my mom. Watching the boys play soccer. Going to the grocery store. Getting in a walk before dinner. 

First I have to get to school. It’s construction season, so every Monday morning I second guess my route


At some point during my drive I have to remind myself to keep breathing. Every traffic jam has me scrambling to remember if Mr Koreen said this was where the construction started, a drawback to occasionally working is not working at the same place, time, class. I’m starting to think my flexibility muscle has broken πŸ€”

I am frazzled to start. The first part of the day is off the rails. The kids are ding dongs and I’m getting wound up.

Morning recess = 

Multiple phone calls on my phone from high school because one teenager was still late for school. πŸ€¦πŸ»β€β™€οΈ#howisthatpossible

And I am now working for the full day. Which is awesome πŸ’°

But the first quarter was brutal. 

So much talking. Them. 

So much yelling. Me.

The day has to change or I will lose my shit. 

I go tell Mr Koreen ( it’s recess) that I am now working all day so maybe he can pick boys up from the soccer game at Western. This is good because he has double planning time at the end of the day and seldom gets to see them play. And he suggests we go out for lunch together. He’ll save his lunch for tomorrow. So now I have a date πŸŽ‰

Second quarter of the day goes WAY better. We have been working on telling time ⏰ and now make a flip book. Everyone is on task and quiet-ish. Then I read an awesome story The Perfect Pet by Margie Palatini


The Perfect Pet ( link to hear story) 
It is an awesome story and the class was rapt while I read  #thepowerofbooks #readmore

Then literacy centres

FINALLY lunch.

And it was just like a date. Or like we were on a holiday. 

We went to Starbucks because I had a reward to redeem and getting lunch that way is AWESOME.


And John bought 


So more points earned 😜

We ate on the patio in the sunshine. There was no one else there and it was a total break from the chaos of my morning.  Mr Koreen, who never goes out for lunch and never wants to spend money on lunch said we should go out for lunch every time I work a full day 😘 It would probably take away from the specialness but it was a nice sentiment

I took a #mcctrish in the sunshine β˜€οΈ 


And the rest of the day went great.

Until I discovered some one was passing nasty notes. And then I was feeling all ugh again. But the office handled it πŸ™πŸ»

I made it to the car wash. 

And 2 grocery stores (because credit/debit was out at all Loblaws stores in my hood and I had to use cash so my list got πŸ‘ŽπŸ»scaled way down) . 

And my walk. And on my walk I stressed about all the crap. And remembered all the good stuff.

A whole day of work.

The kids turned it around.

We got almost all the work left by the teacher done WELL.

A lunch date.

A clean car.

Groceries = necessities and dinner became one of my infamous cook ups:

Asian beef and greens noodle bowl


Why is it so hard to let go of the setbacks? The good far outweighed the bad but I had to shake myself out of it. 

#positiveattitude πŸ‘πŸ» 

One thought on “Mondays have me like πŸ™ƒπŸ˜£

Leave a Reply

